Food for the Soul! Life Lessons Served Daily

It’s Saturday, I could be like many people, who say they live for the weekend however they opt to do tasks like running errands or doing chores or even working. I on the other hand, will do none of the such. I love to cook and that is what I am going to do.

Heading to the kitchen, I put on my favorite heather grey robe with pink polka dots and matching slippers. I grab my phone and head down stairs.

It’s 8AM, so I plug in the coffeemaker and add two cups of water and two table spoons of ground coffee.

I turn on my Pandora App Pandora -Free Music and my new Formation by Beyoncé station begins to play. The kitchen is filled with today’s Hip Hop and RNB.

As I am singing along to the various artists, I decided to meal prep for the week. Since I love to cook, I don’t see any other way to enjoy a non work day.

I pull out of the fridge a bottle of minced garlic, italian salad dressing, yellow mustard, a green pepper and onion. I have 3lbs of ground turkey and 2 lamb chops. Oh, I can’t forget the asparagus. They were on sale this week at Shoprite. http://shoprite.com
image

What to make? I thought, I decided on meatloaf and meatballs for the ground turkey and I will bake the lamb chops with potatoes and carrots.
image

Since the new season of House of Cards began last week, I need quick and easy to prep meals so I can get back to my favorite bad boy fictional character, Frank Underwood who plans to take over the government.
image

https://www.netflix.com/

I pulled out my mixing bowl and added the ground turkey, mustard, italian salad dressing, garlic and onion powder, soy sauce, minced garlic, black ground pepper, green pepper and onion. I chopped up the pepper and onion first to get that out the way.

I mixed all the ingredients together with some elbow grease and a wooden spoon. After everything was mixed I grabbed a glass Pyrex dish and molded my turkey meatloaf perfectly. I added a cup of water to the bottom of the dish to help create more steam and covered with aluminum foil.
http:/pyrex

I decided to kill two birds with one stone and prepped the lamb chops. I decided to take it up a notch and I make spicy lamb chops. I took the two pieces and seasoned them with garlic and ground black pepper and onion powder. I added minced garlic. I topped it off with red pepper flakes for a nice kick.

Are you a driver? or a passenger?

I set the oven to 350 degrees and set the timer for 90 minutes. I allowed it to preheat for 10 minutes and placed both dishes into the oven. As I sat and waited. I thought of the many “Table Talk” conversations I had growing up around the kitchen table. I enjoyed them with my friend Madison the most. She was a quiet yet an old soul. She lived her life to the fullest and didn’t look back. She shared all her experiences, good and bad. I appreciated all of our talks and the advice she gave me growing up. She was like the big sister I wish I had.

“What are you? A driver or a passager?” She would ask me directly and at random. In my young age, I thought “Heifer! You know I am a passenger; I don’t drive. She would just shake her head and laugh at me. Now thinking back, she was asking me a question that we all ask ourselves at some point in our lives.

Yes in theory, I was a passenger but was I willing to stay a mental and emotional passenger of life? For years I leaned upon what Madison said, her opinion mattered and was as good as gold.

Madison wasn’t perfect nor did she try to be but I thought she had a dynamic and distinct life.

I glance at the timer on the stove and realize the food is almost done. Wow! Time flys when you are strolling through memory lane.

I am definitely a driver and it takes faith, patience, and risk. I am enjoying the open and mysterious freeway of life. I threw out my life tracker GPS, life checklist, and age sensitive timeline a long time ago and since then, my life has been peaceful and a lot more fun.

The food is done and I am ready to dig in.

Spicy Lamb Chops
Two lamb chops
Wash and pat dry
1 1/2 Garlic powder
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 capful soy sauce
1 1/2 Onion powder
1 tablespoon ground pepper
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
image

Cost: $4.89 for the lamb chops. The other ingredients I had handy. You can buy from dollar store or discount market for less.

Leave a Reply

